151 Comments
founding

I have been lucky to have many teachers in my long life that inspired me to be better at many aspects of my professional and personal lives. Two of the standouts in my mind were not actually my favorites when I was in their classes but a little growth and maturity revealed the major impacts they had on my mind, character, and life skills. One, in high school, was my band director Charles F. Jones. He was demanding, but patient. Also, generous in sharing his knowledge with a teenager who thought he knew far more than he did. He set high goals for his students and ensembles that were only attainable with continuous effort (much as any worthy goal has been throughout my life). Another standout, Tom Philpott, was my History professor in college. He helped me not only understand much of then-recent American happenings through the longer lens of our history, but he also cleared much fog from and added focus to that lens. At the time, I was much better at thinking about history than I was about writing those thoughts clearly. He refused to accept the lazy writing I had previously skated along with in most courses. He also helped me clarify my thoughts on the direction my education and life should be taking. I am a product of these two teachers and many others like them. Sadly, they are no longer around to hear my appreciation but their impact on many lives survives.

Expand full comment

Dear Mr. Rather -

Many of my teachers jointly changed my life in some way, but of all the teachers I’ve had over the course of my 69 years, the one who absolutely changed my life the most was my 1st grade teacher, Ms. Balk - she taught me how to read.

Expand full comment

Psychological studies often show that we are more inclined to remember negative events and experiences than positive ones. I thought about that while trying to single out an uplifting or inspiring personal experience with a teacher that shaped me positively, one that I could share here. I had some difficulty because my memory bank kept flashing on negative experiences with both school teachers and school librarians. I recalled the school librarian who said, "NO, you most certainly cannot check out a book one day and return it the next because that signals to me that you didn't read it." Are any of you old enough to remember the set or collection of elementary school library books that had a bluish cover and were all biographies of famous people! I devoured those, and I could easily read one at home in the evening (and get my homework done as well). So that was crushing to me. It was crushing to me when in 8th grade my math teacher leaned over my shoulder and said, "Your math figures are so neat as well as accurate. Have you ever thought about being a bookkeeper." At the time, I couldn't fully emotionally process why I felt so devastated by that remark. I'm female, and I loved science, and was already reading about space exploration and grand things like that. Not to impugn bookkeeping, but...part of me died a little with her remark. I was crushed again in 9th grade, because I knew that in 9th grade, Biology was one of the subjects, but then I found--THIS IS REALLY HARD TO BELIEVE THESE DAYS--that 9th grade girls had to take "Home Economics" instead, so only boys could take Biology. Girls had to wait until 10th grade. My resentment at the class must have shown because the teacher mocked me one day and said, "You DO KNOW how to turn on an iron don't you," when I was being forced to cut out a pattern and make a skirt. And, of all things, we spent an entire week learning how to make cream puffs from scratch. I have never in my life of 70+ years now ever felt called upon to make a cream puff. At this school as well, the librarian decided to NOT let me check out Leon Uris's book Exodus from the school library, saying I wasn't mature enough to read it. I complained to my Mother, and I was so proud of her literally storming into the principal's office that week and telling him that "his librarian better let me check out ANY book in the library that I wanted to read." Some years later I discovered that my mother herself often read the library books I checked out, when I left them at home while I went to school. So I did get to read it, and I imagine she may have as well. Later I ended up blessed in public high school because before 10th grade my family moved to the "Space Coast" of Florida. There I got an excellent education in a phased system in which every student was first tested and then placed in classes phased 1 through 5. Phase 4 was called "Rigid Academic." Each student could be all of one phase or mixed phases. I was placed all Phase 4's, so I studied Latin, BSCS, Trigonometry, German, and Advanced English, and most wonderfully of all Art Appreciation, which literally opened up a world to me. Only one student in the entire school made 5's, and the school didn't know what to do with her, so she sat in the library most of the day and read on her own! Oh, I just came up with a good ironic memory. Of all things, Rigid Academic students, males and females, were supposed to take typing--because we were told we would have to type term papers in college! The classroom had MANUAL typewriters, except one or two fancy electric ones up by the teacher's desk, which we weren't allowed to touch or use. One fine day though, the male typing teacher asked me if I'd like to start using the electric one because I was doing so well on the manual. He did not know that I had taught myself how to type at home years before when my Father brought home a manual Underwood--a big clunky one, but stylish for the day I guess. Even in this advanced school though, I encountered a bit of negativity. The Administration, along with math and science teachers, decided the school needed a "Science Club." It was by invitation only for students, who would then travel within the county to meet up with other Science Clubs for presentations by actual college professors. Wow! But OF ALL THINGS, there I was all phase 4, and my female friend also was all phase 4 , and both of us were in advanced math and science, BUT neither us two nor any other females were invited to join the Science Club. So the two of us figuratively joined hands and boldly protested to the Principal (and maybe this also involved parents, but I can't exactly recall). The school (whether reluctantly or not I don't know) then did a look about and invited my friend and me, as well as two other females, into the exclusive boy's Science Club. I still recall some of the inspiring lectures. Despite all the minor horrors though, teachers along the way must have certainly helped educate me, as did the fact that, like Dan Rather's mother, mine bought week by week at the grocery store, A to Z, a set of Home Encyclopedias, which I read in and browsed through often, volume by volume, learning about everything imaginable (although it was not the prized World Book, but a knock off). Things turned out well because when it came time for SAT exams in high school, I placed highest county-wide and because of this I was awarded a generous four year university scholarship, which covered all tuition, housing, and books, with some spending money left over. While it was to a public university, again I lucked out because Administration and professors had inaugurated a University College model. Under this model all students regardless of planned major were required to take two years of a very thorough Liberal Arts curriculum, which included both classic and progressive content. We read, for example, Michael Harrington's fairly recently published, The Other America, along with Plato. In addition, I was placed in several Honors Classes , and all my college teachers were absolutely awesome, in love with their subjects and very inspirational. Sadly now, as years have passed, all my high school teachers are now passed on and almost all my college professors as well. I was able to contact a few though, along the years, and let them know what a lasting impression they had on me, even though I was just largely an anonymous student among many at the time.

Expand full comment

Miss Mary Graham Smith, high school English teacher, the most feared teacher in the school for her take no shit strictness. I was a smart ass underachiever who didn’t care about doing quality work. Most teachers seemed to think I was a slacker non entity and were content to let me stay that way. Miss Smith seemed to see something in me beyond that. To make a longer story short, she pushed me, wouldn’t let me slack off and taught me to write. Today I am a published author and I owe it to Ms Smith

Expand full comment

I had a wonderful teacher who inspired me, gave me courage, and encouraged me to do what I saw as my future. I saw her balancing her family life with her work and continuing her studies.

She was compassionate to all and I never heard her say a bad word about anyone. I'm sure she saw the short comings of people who traveled through her life but she chose to encourage them and teach them kindness through her example.

This wonderful woman was my mother and I can't thing of a more honorable profession than to touch the hearts, minds, and souls of the next generation.

Expand full comment

unfortunately, most of the teachers i had were incompetent and made my life far far worse than it could have been. Art teachers and phys ed teachers were the worst. It took me 50 years to get past the lies they told me.

Expand full comment

Mr. Oleary from Gladstone Elementary in Chicago. Years later he recognized me near a park in China town. That conversation led me on the greatest adventure in my life.

Expand full comment

Barb Davis from Wilson Vance elementary school in Findlay Ohio was my heroine. She played the guitar and sang to us and was just so cool. It no longer mattered that I suffered in all things sports related and that I was a geeky girl with red hair and didn’t quite fit in with all the popular girls. It was 1974 and she dared to have us all sing songs from Jesus Christ Superstar and Hair - I never listen to these albums without thinking of her! And bonus, she visited my family in ND after we moved there from Ohio. I would love to find her! Melissa Groneman Royle.

Expand full comment

I had no-one in my family to pattern my behavior on, but I always thought about teachers who had a certain something and wanted to be like them. I am now a Speech Assistant in elementary education and trying very hard to be that person for lost children.

Expand full comment

I had no chance at college until Sister Sebastian, OP, plotted to find a scholarship for me at St. Mary of the Springs (now Ohio Dominican). I could only afford 1 year before transferring to Mercy School of Nursing on another scholarship. It was the beginning of lifelong education and I am forever grateful to Sister Sebastian. Ann Molony Desmond, MEd, MSN, R.N.

Expand full comment

Miss Riddlesperger became Mrs. Wildman during my 3rd grade year. That was 2 years before my older sister died on the eve of her high school graduation. I felt like I never knew who would pick me up from school or where I would spend the night because Mother was constantly taking Barbara to doctors and hospitals out of our small town for treatment in Dallas, Waco or Galveston.

I was studious as that was the only thing I felt like I had any control over. However, I would work with my head bent and silent tears dripping on my notebook paper. Mrs. Wildman would stop and linger by my desk. Leaning over with her head near my ear, she would whisper, “Is Barbara sick again?” I would nod. “Is your mother gone with her?” I would nod. “Your mother will be back soon.”

I never knew how soon “soon” would be, but Mrs. Wildman’s tenderness lingers in my mind 69 years later.

Expand full comment

My parents were our first teachers. They always had something great to read, always learning. I had great teachers. My 6th grade reading teacher, Mrs. Allen, told me I would travel the world because I loved to read. I couldn’t comprehend how that could happen. I have traveled the world and given more than 5 million books to people that love learning. I have had mountains and deep valleys in my life. I will never forget Mrs. Allen and others that touched my life so sweetly. I teach correctional education and love my students. My classroom is an oasis for my “gentlemen.” They learn to heal in Dr. Thomas’s classroom. I pray I am touching their lives in a similar way Mrs. Allen touched my life.

Expand full comment

I was a teacher inspired by my teachers. I hope I was a good teacher. It was satisfying to me.

Expand full comment

As a little girl in the 1950s, I was consistently told that girls are not good at math. In the 7th grade in our local junior, I had a teacher who believed anyone could learn math. I was a bookworm who would rather read a good book than do anything else. That trait and the teacher's novel approach got me interested in math. He also happened to be my homeroom teacher, so I got to know him quite well.

He made a proposal to all of the students in his classes at the beginning of each semester. He used a non-traditional textbook that was designed as a math tutorial for adults. We were to work way through the book during the semester and we would complete it by the end. From the beginning, he gave us a test at the end of each chapter. His proposition was this: work through the book at your own place. He would provide lessons based on the current chapter, but if you had the desire you could work ahead of the lesson. Each test included a problem from each chapter. If you got all of the problems correct, you would get a score of 95. If your work was neat and legible, you would receive another 5 points. So, you could receive a score of 100 if you mastered the material in the book and also had neat work. The reward for reaching 100 points was to not do any additional homework for his class the rest of the semester and to spend class time reading a book or doing homework for another class. I quickly worked myself through the book and finished the last chapter, which covered finding square roots manually, and took one of his tests. I did it! I got 100 points and I spent the rest of the semester reading books for pleasure and was excused from math homework. I proved to myself that I could do math, even without instruction. What feeling of power.

Expand full comment

In middle school (USA) we had foreign language survey classes: German, Spanish, and French. Our Spanish teacher, Mrs Kinkel, also taught French - she was a delightful woman with a kind heart and an infectious love for her subjects. I fell in love with French, she noticed I was talented, and she offered to teach a second year of it to me, in parallel with her main first-year class (normally, only the first year was offered).

In high school we only had third-year French, with no opportunity to study for the AP test. Our high school teacher must have spoken with Mrs Kinkel, because she offered to tutor me at her lovely A-frame house out along the McKenzie just outside Springfield. She generously taught me as if it were completely natural, driving me to her place after school, providing snacks and everything. I never felt obligated to her; instead it was a wonderful, joyous exchange between people who loved French.

I had a terrible home life; my parents were abusive and constantly sabotaging my schoolwork, even digging into my bank account (which had to have their names on it since I was a minor) once I started working. The week before the AP French test, my mother decided she didn’t want to drive me after all, and that if it got around that I told anyone else it was her decision, she’d say I was a manipulative liar. I told Mrs Kinkel, tears streaming down my face, that I’d been irresponsible, trying to take the blame for not being able to go to the test. She offered to drive me herself - it so happened she had a convertible red Mustang, which she chose to drive me with.

On our way there, a car full of young men hooted and hollered at us, shouting how beautiful we were. “Who are they talking to?” I asked, not seeing any other cars. Mrs Kinkel burst out laughing and said in a tone so natural it went straight to my heart: “honey, they’re flirting with you! You’re beautiful!”

I completely dissociated. My own parents never complimented me; I was ugly and worthless. I couldn’t say anything the rest of the day, in my state of shock, and I still regret it decades later. I wish I’d been able to talk to her about it.

I went on to major in French, earning two years of credit ahead of time, and spent my last year in France on scholarship. A few weeks before graduating, Mrs Kinkel and her husband, also a Spanish teacher, were killed by their son Kip in their A-frame home, before he went to our high school and did even worse.

I never got to tell Mrs Kinkel I graduated in French. I still live in France today, and use words and phrases I remember learning from and practicing with her all those years ago. She made my life possible, and as hard as her death has been on me, I know she’d be delighted and proud. That means the world.

Expand full comment

My grade school teachers were great: Mrs. Johnson, Mrs. Johnston, and Mrs. Schettler. Two grades to each classroom. It was wonderful. No one else stands out until High School. Mr. Hesselman was my Algebra teacher. However, he did not always teach algebra.. If you asked him a question about anything else he would often begin to talk about that and then he would include all of the class in a discussion. I learned so much more from him than any other teacher due to his kindness, humor and caring.

Expand full comment

First things that pops up for me is how a teacher didn’t stop 5-6 ‘’classmates’’ beating me up. That made a difference in my life. Some good teachers to. One unlicensed that made a positive difference. A lot of teachers are working hard and doing amazing things. But a few are really rotten apples and many are mediocre.

Expand full comment

So many teachers had an impact, I cannot name just one or two, or even ten. I would inevitably short change the others. Elementary school, junior high school, high school, college and university, graduate school for a Master's degree, then another Master's degree and a Ph.D. In fact, all those teachers over all those years had such an influence that I became an educator and found a way to stay in schools for the rest of my career, both as student and teacher, and then as fate would have it, a head of school and in the final 15 years, helping schools both here and abroad as a designer and consultant. Fifty-nine years and still working, albeit very part time, helping schools and teachers to find new ways to create optimum learning experiences for kids and adults. I am both honored and humbled by the opportunities and now am in a position to give back and help others who may not have the resources or personnel they need to take the next steps forward.

Expand full comment

I have two:

My grandfather was an English teacher. He gave me a copy of Richard III when I was in fourth grade, saying, “I think you’ll like this.” I never looked back. We read such a variety of “adult” books together, discussing them via letter and summer visits. A few of the books we read featured the school at which he taught as a setting, so he took me on “book tours” of the buildings and grounds. I am indebted to him.

Mr. Scholz - physics & calculus. First day in a new high school (I had been living abroad), and by the time Advanced Math rolled around, I had lost my pencil. The bell had just stopped ringing, and Mr. S. announced a quiz. I got out a pen, because that was all I had. I’m three questions into the quiz, when I am startled by a hand being slammed down on the counter next to me. Mr. S. said, “Only idiots and geniuses do math in pen. You, Miss Smith, are neither!” For the next two years, I was sure he hated me. He threw erasers and chalk, pounded on the chalkboard, did not suffer fools lightly, and was the best teacher I ever had.

Expand full comment

On my tombstone 🪦 let it read finally may he Rest In Peace some must have messed with his Daughter. Or Son.

Expand full comment

San Francisco and it was in 1968. I was attending John Adams Adult Continuation High School, a system which is now part of the greater SFUSD. It's a system I hated—I mean hated. In the words of Jack Nicholson in "As Good As It Gets", "I am using the word hate here." I was tossed from an imperfect system because I did not fit into the matrix of that era. Tossed to learn from those teaches who refused to give up on my kind.

I usually received the normal D+ average grades for all my course studies except in this school times of change were different. Somehow, some of the instructors had found ways to challenge the one place in my mind others failed to achieve, my imagination. For a time, Mister Adams, who taught me Social Sciences, piqued my interests into current events using quotes such as this one, "Keep the public ignorant and they will give you no trouble." This quote is so apropos to the articles I've already read in "Steady" that Dan, I hope you read my humble comments about how I gratefully gather new information. I would be remiss not to mention other teachers but there were a bunch in this school and I will mention one more, Mister Fredricson, an English teacher. He is the one that not only reached the imagination but he put color and sound into it too. Those essays he assigned as homework studies also aligned my future understanding. because of the 1968 tenure, I saw the future which for all its turmoil today still looks bright in the faces of my children and theirs too. Teachers who can do all that are way underrated and is their pay.

Expand full comment

My favorite teacher in high school in the early 1970s was a wonderfully funny man named Stu Johnson. He was one of the first adults in my life to treat me like I was a worthwhile person; he was a great listener when I needed someone to talk to about my troubles, which felt so monumental at the time. He helped me build my confidence & find a sense of self-worth at a critical time in my life. I was able to reconnect with him 10 years ago & was even able to meet him for lunch when I was at a work conference held in the city where he retired. I'm forever grateful for being able to reconnect with him; it was so great to be able to thank him for being there for me back in the day. Now we're Christmas cards buddies. Thanks again, Stu!!

Expand full comment

A lot of teachers made differences in my life, but one probably thought she didn't; My 5th grade teacher, Mrs Conroy. I'd just moved to her state, and I was miserable. The death of my grandfather, my mom getting remarried, and the move, among other things, all happened in less than a year. I'd been through a lot, and was still very much adjusting to all the changes. I was angry at the world around me. and I challenged authority any chance I got in an effort to scrape back any semblance of autonomy or power in a world that felt like it'd spiraled out of control.

One of the assignments we did was a creative writing assignment based on a book we'd read. She read mine, and called a parent teacher conference. I was convinced that I was in trouble, because I wrote about using the time travel device from the story to change something from my past.

She told my mom that the story made her cry. I'd never before realized that words could change someone's view that much. She went from feeling like I was constantly on her last nerve to having empathy for me, and by the end of the school year, I was at least less angry at the world. Many, many years later, I'm now a published author and full time editor. All because she made me realize the power words, my words, could have.

Expand full comment

So very many teachers affected me that it's hard to sort out! My two most beloved are Miss Joan Romig, my art teacher, who taught me better penmanship through calligraphy, and created a lifelong love for textile arts. And Dr Tom Rumsey for truly teaching me critical reading, evaluation of sources, inspiring me to aim high, and reminding me to stay focused (and giving me a glimmer of the possibility that I might be ADHD, finally confirmed in college). But I bless all the teachers who taught me reading, math (despite resistance), music, and sciences, and a lifetime love of learning.

Expand full comment

My science teacher junior year of high school , Mr. Sproviero , told me that I was very smart and encouraged me in his class and made me love science. Sounds simple.

Up until then I struggled in school. I didn’t apply myself, cut class and didn’t do my homework. I went to summer school for failing classes. I had little or no direction and lots of problems at home.

Then…..My first semester in senior year I was on the honor roll. My first year in college as a biology major I was on the Dean’s list. I worked and paid for my own college.

I went to college for the three years with excellent grades and work ethic. I didn’t finish college for financial and life reasons but I did go on to succeed in my work . I am a very focused , ever learning, ever inquisitive intelligent woman who has hired and mentored hundreds of people in my career. I’m 57 years old now. Mr Sproviero changed the direction of my entire life. He did that by simply believing in me.

Expand full comment

I was lucky enough to have a few teachers nudge me in better directions. One in elementary school, one in high school, and one in college. Eisenhour helped me see the fun in learning and my potential if I just let my imagination work. Hudson gave me confidence in myself I never knew I had -- she had a way of pushing and pulling in all the right directions to get us out of our shells. Reichs taught me that passion for a subject is important, but not enough -- and that's ok. She taught me that I could redirect the passion and still fulfill my dreams without being what I *thought* I just had to be and didn't have the right skillset for.

All three gave me priceless gifts to take with me into life. My life hasn't gone in any of the directions I had thought it would, but I love where I'm at.

Expand full comment

First. Thank you to all those that teach. It takes a special soul to do this job. I find myself surrounded by the most amazing people who teach. My husband was a teacher when I met him. He then went into administration and was a principal for many years. He retired after over 30 years of education service. As a second career he works for a university as a career coach for prospective administrators. Still teaching. Those that chose this career do it from the heart What amazing hearts they have.

Expand full comment

My 5th grade teacher changed my life. Prior to that year, I was a quiet child who was passively learning but not really engaged. Sr. Anna Barbara saw that I needed some personal encouragement and validation. She named me "student of the month" early in the school year, and my love for learning and engaging was ignited. From then on I loved learning and doing my best. Fortunately I was able to find Anna Barbara later in life and thank her for gifting me with a live-long passion to learn and grow.

Expand full comment

When I was in 4th grade, labeled as a non-reader, my 1st teacher insisted I was a reader and I believed her. At the end of the year, with her encouragement, I knew it too. After that nothing stopped me. I am now a 30+ year Kindergarten teacher and still love nothing more that looking at a child and proclaiming "YOU are a reader!"

Expand full comment

I think teachers do a tremendous job of linking potential future for students to their situations. When I was younger student in College I ask the dean of a law school in St Louis University Law school about getting admitted to the Law School. He advised me to apply and if I can get in another Law School do that and after studying a year to re-apply as a transfer student to St Louis University law school the second year. I did what you suggested in my first year of I going to law school at a different Law School and at the end of the year I made an appointment with him at his office in St Louis and told him I was going to reapply as he suggested to seek admission in St Louis University Law School. After I did that he actually followed up accepting me as a law School transfer student into st.Louis University Law School for my 2nd and 3 rd year and I graduated from the Law school with honors. I thanked him what I first got there and actually saw him several times as I attended the law school and actually felt great about the relationship he had with the students like myself. I think it does show a real gateway to the Future from where we are now to have Educators like this helping the younger generation move forward to things that you don't know anything about as a young person/ student.

Expand full comment

Back in 1962 , in 4th grade, I was diagnosed midyear with rheumatic fever. My teacher Mrs Crown brought me my homework once a week so that I did not get behind. She made a huge impact on my life because of her compassion and dedication.

Expand full comment

Lynn Berg - my junior year AP Language teacher who made me fall in love with English class again and have me the courage to believe I could interpret and analyze literature and write about it. My mom who became a teacher when I was in fourth grade and again, after years working with my dad in industry went back to the classroom after his death. She welcomed me to the profession the next year, in her building, and classroom. Both of these women made me the English teacher I am today.

Expand full comment

I’m the new kid in the new school. 2nd grade. Having spent the prior Labor Day weekend moving into the new home on Staten Island (before the Verrazano Bridge was open) from Brooklyn, I and my younger brother just went through the initial hellos to the new neighborhood kids.

I walked with the principal down a long corridor to a classroom with a sign “Miss Cavanaugh 2nd Grade” next to the closed door.

Principal Carver knocks, gives a short wave through the glass pane of the door and we enter.

I immediately look to my left to see some 20 kids looking at me, me and my crossed eyes. I froze in place hearing Mr. Carver announce my name to the class. He was a big man with a big voice and had everyone’s complete attention.

It was then I noticed Miss Cavanaugh as she came forward to greet me.

My double image of the beautiful redhead struck this 7 year old dumb and silent. Maybe it was the light from the big windows behind her, but I could swear for a fleeting moment I was looking at an angel and I was in love.

She came and took my hand and brought me further into the room and immediately called out to one of the children “John, I’m putting you in charge of showing Joe around at lunch and introducing him around. Raise you hand John.”

When he did, she turned to me and told me to sit at the desk next to John.

I did as told and said a brief hello to John and sat.

They returned to the lesson that was in process when I arrived and were covering times tables that I already covered in St Jeromes in Brooklyn, so that calmed things down a bit in my stomach.

About 20 minutes later a bell went off and John leaned over and told me it was lunchtime and then he stood up.

John was huge. I was to later find out that he was the tallest kid in the school that year for all the grades through the 5th grade. There were 2 6th graders that were taller.

John showed me around, made introductions not only to those in my class, but in the lunch break playground.

While there were questions about my eyes, patch & glasses, no one made fun of me - which was a big relief.

Miss Cavanaugh did that for me and I’ve never forgotten it.

As to John, I made sure he was one of the ushers in my wedding and we remain friends to this day - some 55+ years later.

None of this would have happened without Miss Cavanaugh.

Expand full comment

A few teachers impacted my life in positive ways, I’ll mention two here. The first is my sister, who was a parochial grade school teacher for thirty years. Teaching was literally her life. She devoted much of her free time (and money) running fundraisers to help offset the costs of her eight graders’ annual field trip to Washington D.C. A trip she organized and chaperoned every year. Many of her students could not afford the trip without the extra funds they earned from these fund raisers throughout the year. My sister died of cancer in 2007, one day after her last class of eighth graders graduated (she was too sick to teach that year, but she still considered them “her kids.” Her funeral Mass was held at the church of the school where she taught in Bridgeport. The entire school attended her funeral (except maybe the younger grades). The church was packed. I was never before so moved at the gratitude she generated in others. Gratitude she well deserved.

My other favorite teacher of all time was my fifth grade teacher at Blessed Agnes (now St Agnes of Bohemia) School, in the Little Village neighborhood of Chicago. Ms. Adele Kozielska, whom we always addressed as Ms. Adele. I particularly admired that she used the title MS instead of “Miss” which was still customary in 1973. I was inspired by her because of all my parochial school teachers, she was the most soft spoken and mild tempered. She was fluent in French, (as well as her native Polish), which I found fascinating and she taught us songs and poems in French. This sparked a lifelong love of the language which I later went on to study for seven years throughout high school and college. Ms. Adele also believed in hands on learning. We often did science experiments, like germinating seeds or sprouting potato plants from potato “eyes”, and making crafts that coincided with a social studies lesson. My favorite thing was something she called “fifteen-minute free writing.” We got to write anything we wanted within a fifteen minute period and then share it with the class. She taught us to pick a topic, jot down a few starting ideas and then compile them in a story. Sometimes they were just stream of consciousness writings, but the point was to get our thoughts on paper. Mine always involved some type of adventure or fairytale or even a commercial for an imaginary product or gadget. Other times I would write a poem or silly song. No matter what anyone wrote, the lesson was to free our minds and release thoughts onto the paper. Ms. Adele often enjoyed my work and wrote encouraging remarks. She even told me I should never stop writing. I had dreams of becoming a writer and spent many hours holed up in my room, concocting stories and poems. I even loved writing school essays and term papers! I continued through high school and in college I took every creative writing, literature and composition class I could. Then came all the grownup questions: “what will you DO with that?” “Who will hire you?” My dreams got squashed — rather, I allowed them to become squashed. I set the writing aside, and had a Communications and Liberal Arts degree that I wasn’t sure how to use. (My university didn’t have a journalism department and I learned the hard way that no one hires writers who aren’t sure what they want to write). Now I’m approaching my retirement years and am getting that itch to write again. I haven’t completely stopped over the years but raising kids and working in Human Resources (for a federal agency), pushed writing a little further back on the proverbial burner. I hope to someday be able to tell the spirit of Ms. Adele that “I did it, I got published!” I suppose it’s not too late, if I only knew where to start...

Expand full comment

Dawn C. Gill was my 2nd grade teacher 59 years ago. We managed to remainin touch via email and Facebook. I found out this afternoon that she died last month - encouraging to the end, sending me love for a cert test I am studying for. She was and is my role model. I am so glad she got to see me grow.....

Expand full comment

I had just finished my MA degree and was driving home to Ohio from Texas Tech (Lubbock, TX). Decided to stop in and visit my undergrad advisor on the way home, at Muskingum College. As we talked about job possibilities, he reached into his garbage can and pulled out a flyer from a local technical college that was looking for a communication instructor. I applied then and there from his office, and that was my first post-grad job. Four years later, I left COTC (Central Ohio Technical College) to pursue my Ph.D. at The Ohio State U. My advisor ended up being in two of my classes, as he pursued his Ph.D. at the same time. I just retired after 36 years, teaching communication at Virginia Tech , and I still appreciate the serendipity of Jud Ellertson finding me a job out of his trash can! I've told my students forever that you should never give up on any potential network; you never know what will come of it.

Expand full comment

I will never forget my Harrisonville Missouri Sr. High biology professor, Mr. Curtis. He instilled in me the passion to always search for the what ifs, and I wonder what. He showed me the love of research for finding the answers no matter how hard it may be, or how long it may take. My path has taken a turn from biology long ago, but the passion for research and getting to the bottom of things is still with me. If it weren't for him believing in me, and urging me to always ask questions....well...I wouldn't be where I am now...working on my second Masters degree this time in Forensic Psychology. Thank you Mr. Curtis...for everything.

Expand full comment

I can’t recall any teacher during my early years that impacted my life, because we moved around so much. I had one year of college and then decided that I wasn’t ready for it. However, I went back to college in my 40’s and one of my professors had an impact on my life and academic future when he read my paper to the class. That day turned things around for me, and I have always been grateful to him for that. For the first time in my life, I felt smart!

Expand full comment

My 3rd grade teacher, Natalie Schneider, was young, lovely, fun, perceptive, wise, and compassionate. She sensed that I was a troubled kid who was also intellectually gifted, and found ways to support me and keep me engaged. Finishing my in-class assignments quickly, she would give me paper, pencil and crayons, and I'd write poetry, illustrating my work. She would send me out to other classrooms to read my poetry books, which I loved to do. I corrected papers with her. She gave me extra reading and social studies assignments to do in class. I often stayed after school to help her with bulletin boards and other classroom decorating projects. This was a school on a military base in Europe. I was brokenhearted when her husband was transferred back to the States the following year. Before she left, she gave me her in-laws' address and encouraged me to write to her. Sadly, I didn't have the self-confidence to do so. If only I had! There was trauma and stress in my childhood that she instinctively knew about, and having a wise confidante may well have changed the direction of my life, in a positive way. Nonetheless, she instilled in me a love of learning that is thriving to this day. I am deeply grateful to her. She would likely be in her mid 80s or early 90s now, if still living. I'm posting this with a prayer that either she or one of her children will recognize her in this post. Barbara Rodriguez Dyke, Spangdahlem AFB, Germany, 1963-1965

Expand full comment

Dan, A teacher saved me and my family from grief. She’s a fan of us on Twitter. Her last name is Ashcroft. Yes. That Ashcroft. She’s on the progressive side of my family.

Expand full comment

As I try to choose, it is impossible to pick just one of my teachers that hold a special place in my heart, so I will share a few, but honestly I could list 20+.

Mr Mattern, my mid school band director, helped me through that awkward age while I also dealt with being the new kid who transferred into the school mid year.

My HS Geometry (Ms. Wrenn) and Calculus (Mrs. Metzler) teachers were both women who served as positive role models - showing me that girls could be good at math, too, and inspiring me to become a math teacher myself!

Many others along the way who then became my colleagues and are dear friends to me to this day. I love them dearly and thank them for pushing me to be my best and for helping me as I entered their profession.

Expand full comment

I was fortunate to have many excellent teachers in the public schools I attended: Mr Brown, an 11th grade history teacher who instilled a passion for history and the vocabulary used to describe it; a 10th grade English teacher who instilled a love of poetry and plays. Most significant were the elementary school teachers in 1st and 2nd grades who saw something in me worth developing. The Kindergarten teacher had no patience with and few skills to deal with my behavior, so I spent much of that year receiving her anger, sitting in the corner, and suffering teasing and name calling by my classmates. School was a nightmare for me. During the 1st grade year, I was ill most mornings and stayed home. I struggled with behavior and attendance and was not supposed to move forward from 1st grade due to excessive absences. Mrs Baum supported my move into grade 2 where I encountered Mrs Alwein. Mrs Alwein sat me in the front row and often rested her hand gently on the top of my head during class. Up front, I could see the board and hear her words. I could relax enough to learn. She gave me responsibilities in the classroom and treated me with respect. She modeled a behavior picked up by my classmates. School became a refuge from a nasty home life. In 4th grade, a school physician discovered the poor vision and hearing issues that caused me such anxiety in the early grades. Finally, our school principal, a woman, was horrified when my parents insisted on my taking a high school commercial curriculum upon graduation from 8th grade. Mrs Geist held my parents in her office until they signed the paper work for me to follow an academic curriculum. Eventually, I earned a B.A. in biology and a Ph.D. in Anatomy. After years of work in medical research, I changed professions and began teaching biology. I often thought back to my own experiences, strove to never "short change" a student, and look for the diamond "in the rough."

Expand full comment

Some awful teachers become a cautionary tale, like the dragon lady who taught piano, but others made us soar to reach for possibilities, or quietly assured us that they had confidence in us and our ability to reach for our best potential. They were the absolute best of all.

Expand full comment

Loved my kindergarten and then she was my first grade teacher. Had not seen her till I was 21, standing in line in front of me I immediately recognized her from her voice.

Excuse me are you Mrs Handwerker? I asked. As she turned around before even looking at my face she beamed..Is that you Louis!

We both were in tears. Magic.

Expand full comment

I was in high school in the 50’s. The instructors in math & science turned me off, so since I didn’t like, or excel in either of those subjects, English and Literature gained my interest. My teacher, Mrs Canant had a well-earned reputation of being very demanding and hard on her students. Our interpretations of Literature assignments were criticized & sent back with her notes “You can do better!” Creativity seemed to please her, and when I became aware of this, I included my drawings of scenes in the stories when I turned a lower graded paper back in for further consideration AND I got an A+ (which she never gave).

This, from the hardest instructor in the school, gave me confidence to try & succeed when I was told that I couldn’t do something!

I became an educator working primarily with non- college bound students, whom the system had mostly given up on, through Vocational programs to give them opportunities they otherwise they would have no access to! I give full credit to a hard-nosed English/Literature teacher for passing on the “Can do” spirit to many more students than just me!! (I have a sister & numerous nieces who are carrying on the “caring teacher” family legacy❣️)

Expand full comment

Yes, my ninth grade history teacher. Miss Hanna.She was wonderful and highly encouraging in every way. I last saw her sitting at the last pew at my wedding and I invited her to the reception but she declined. Your article made me want to contact her, but I found she had passed 12 years ago, and so I missed that opportunity. But I will always remember her and be grateful.

Expand full comment

Rosalie Thompson said it, when Charlie Brown responds to Lucy’s, "I wonder what teachers make?" — "A HUGE difference!" Teachers have made a huge difference in my life. I want to call some out who were exceptional & instrumental in my life from elementary thru college. A shout out to Ms. Spicer, Mr. Farley (no longer w/us) (6th grade), Miss Hutchinson (4th grade), Mr. Gary Kramer (a remarkably & talented English teacher in middle school), Mr. Stephen Mueller (another wonderful English teacher in middle school), Mr. Dobson, Mr. Fahy (who became the Head of the English Dept. & no longer w/us — high school), Mr. Mosley (History & no longer w/us — high school), Miss Smith (my business/shorthand teacher — high school), Dr. Adriana Gallanes (wasn’t my teacher but an advisor, worth mentioning), Dr. Victor Hernandez-Vázquez (both Professors @ Temple Univ.) and Robin Kolodny, also at Temple. I want to thank them from the depth of my soul for their commitment, love of teaching, unselfishness, for the love of the student, and for caring. It’s not easy, but during my years a bit better than in today’s society. All the same, thank you teachers, for if not you, then who really cares.

Expand full comment

My music instructor in high school. I always loved singing, but he helped put emphasis on the artistic aspect of it. He encouraged the beautiful songs and singing from your lungs up into your brain and out. To this day I love the masters and cannot abide poor quality music. I love a good voice! Unfortunately he died before I ever got to tell him how much he influenced me.

Expand full comment

My grade school teachers, from 1st to 6th grade paved the way toward a career as a writer. Each taught us to love reading, poetry, observe, absorb. By high school, I was fortunate to have a journalism teacher who sealed the deal for me. And in college, a professor saw something in me I didn't really believe was there, but here I am, many years later, working as a journalist in a career I love. Teachers are magic, and we never forget those magicians.

Expand full comment

More than one teacher changed my life, and I could not be more grateful. I was smart and quite introverted (still am!), but my 5th grade teacher asked me to care for a whole tank of his tropical fish over the summer - and I did. It wasn't just fun - it was a responsibility and I think he wanted to boost my confidence. He didn't have to do that! In 8th grade, Mr. White told me that good grades wouldn't be enough to get me into Harvard. So introvert or not, I got involved with the student newspaper and student government. There are so many others. I DID get into Harvard (and grad school at MIT) and I credit my wonderful teachers as part of that success!

Expand full comment